Comicus in Japan

A stand up philosopher`s views on JAPAN

  • LISTEN UP!

    This Blog contains STRONG
    LANGUAGE and is not for kids.

    This Blog Is best enjoyed
    with Alcohol.

    This Blog may teach you something.
    This Blog will make you smarter I Promise.
    This Blog will make you LYFAO!!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 4 other subscribers
  • Scatergories

  • Archives

Archive for September 11th, 2010

New Convenience Store Worker……it’s gonna be a good day…

Posted by Comicus on September 11, 2010

It doesn’t matter which Japanese Combini (Convenience Store) you go into…

The end result is always the same:

You enter the store, the door bell goes off and you instantly hear “Irashaimase” (Welcome) from every person that works there.

You get what you want and proceed to the counter.

If you have only one item they ask do you want a seal? (a little sticker with the store name on it) if you say no they ask do you want a bag? Since there are only 2 choices I would just reach for a bag after a “No” for the seal. If it is a new person I say no to the bag as well. This causes the time/space continuum to become imbalanced, because in the “How to be Japanese” manual it does not address the double no answer.  Kind of like the “No Cheese Button”. So sometimes I say no to the bag and then grab the item and quickly hand them money or I’ll say yes to the bag and then grab the item and quickly hand them money. Why Quickly? If I don’t do it quickly they loop back to “Do you want a seal……”

If you get several items they will automatically put it all in a plastic bag, put the two handles together, give them a double twist and hand you the bag. You then give them the money. You hold out your hand for the change and they lay the bills on your hand followed by the receipt and then the coins. I have one hand holding a bag already and now I need two hands. Now I have to put the bag down grab the coins. Put them in the front left pocket. Throw the receipt on the counter. Put the bills in the wallet and then the wallet in the back pocket. Get the bag a second time and leave. Believe me this only happened once cause now I refuse to take the bag until I’m ready. They try to stand the bag up…it falls over. They try to lay the bag on its side it rolls over. The whole time I am chuckling to myself.

After a few of my visits they start to use their heads a little. Every couple of months though it’s fun for me.

Posted in Funny | Leave a Comment »